Association of Surgical Technologists

Arkansas State Assembly

Association of Surgical Technologists
Association of Surgical Technologists

March 14, 2020

Springtacular! 2020 and Beyond!
CE Credits:
8 Approved by AST

UAMS Reynold's Institute on Aging - Jo Ellen Ford Auditorium
629 Jack Stephens Drive
Little Rock , AR 72205

Cindy Lewis
PO Box 15772, Little Rock, AR 72231


Register for Spring Workshop

Workshop Documents
Register through Paypal
Pay through PayPal


Daniel Castleberry Memorial Scholarship Now Open!

Daniel Castleberry Memorial Scholarship Winner (Lindsey Brietz) ARSA is accepting applications for the "Daniel Castleberry Memorial Student Scholarship" that will be presented at its Spring Workshop on March 14, 2020. The scholarship is named in memory of former ARSA President Gennie Castleberry's son Daniel, who passed away suddenly a few years ago. The deadline for submission is February 29, 2020. For more information about the scholarship and how to apply, click here.
In the picture: Lindsey Brietz, the winner of the second Daniel Castleberry Memorial Scholarship in Spring, 2018.


IMPORTANT UPDATE:  Arkansas Surgical Technologist Grandfather Registration Deadline Extended

On March 6, 2017, Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson signed Senate Bill 167 which is now Act 390. When this happened, the Arkansas Surgical Technologists Act was created (to establish the registration of Surgical Technologists). This was a huge accomplishment for ARSA. Arkansas is proud to be one of only sixteen states at this time that has similar legislation in the state law books. We wish to express our gratitude to our sponsors Senator David Sanders and Representative Kim Hammer as well as our lobbyist Lucas Hargraves, Amanda Story, and AST's own Cathy Sparkman. Any Surgical Technologist employeed at least 6 months in 2017, certified or not, may register with the Arkansas State Medical Board by choosing one of the three notarized sections: education and certification, military, or work experience. Please keep in mind that if you are registering by using the work experience section, this is a grandfathered area and will only be available until July 1, 2018.
2019 Update
Arkansas Senator Cecile Bledsoe sponsored Senate Bill 270 with the backing of the Arkansas State Medical Board.  Senate Bill 270 was signed into law as Act 264 on March 4, 2019.  Act 264 extends the grandfathered deadline that non certified surgical technologists can register with the Arkansas State Medical Board using the work experience section to March 30, 2020.  This extension allows non certified surgical technologists that did not register with the Medical Board before the 2018 deadline to do so before steps are taken for possible requirement.  There are no plans for future grandfather extensions.  All other provisions, including the employment span of at least 6 months in 2017, that pertain to the Arkansas Surgical Technologists Act remain the same as written in the original law.  After the new deadline of March 30, 2020, only certified and military trained surgical technologists will be allowed to register with the Arkansas Medical Board.  If you have any questions, please contact ARSA.  Download your registration packet with the Arkansas State Medical Board here: